#PSMeetTheTeam : Ansari (Operations Assistant)

#PSMeetTheTeam : Ansari (Operations Assistant)

Designation Operations Assistant

Year in PS 25 years

Hometown Singapore

How did you start working at PS.Cafe

I started working as a personal driver for one of the directors in the early 90s; however, they needed someone to be in charge of delivery when the company began to grow in ‘92, that’s how I started working full time at PS and have stayed ever since. Has it been 25 years already? [Laughs]

What’s your most memorable experience in PS.Cafe so far?

Seeing how the company has grown and evolved through my years working here is definitely memorable. How they started from producing clothes, moving on to bags and accessories and now into F&B. I have been with them through the ups and downs, and those experiences are really what makes PS.Cafe feel like one big family to me.

How’s your typical everyday work schedule look like?

I start early at 5.30 am to make sure all outlets receive their freshly cut flowers and other deliveries. I think it is the best time of the day to deliver goods because the weather is cool and the roads are clear which helps shorten travelling time. After that, I’ll stop by HQ to check if there are things that need to be delivered to the outlets. I’m a planner so before I end the day, I’ll check with each outlet / kitchen / warehouse for things that need to be done the next day, that way I can plan my journey ahead and ensure that things get done promptly and efficiently.

That’s early! What’s your morning routine look like?

Everyday I wake up around 3.00 am and then will take some time to read the news. I like to know what’s going on around the world. I don’t normally eat breakfast, but black coffee is a must. Dawn is very peaceful because most people are still asleep. It is very important for me not to rush things before work, so I’ll take my time with my coffee. After that, I’ll take a cold shower to freshen up!

Do you listen to CD / radio in the car?

I listen to Radio Gold on most days, but weekends are my favourite time to tune in because they will play a lot of 70’s hits. From Celine Deon, Bread, Bee Gees, and so on. Jamming in the car is definitely one of my guilty pleasures. [Laughs]

What’s your favourite song?

There’s too many to mention, but off the top of my head would be Celine Dion & Bee Gees’ “Immortality”.

How do you spend your off days?

I grew up doing a lot of sports from soccer, cycling or anything sporty really, so I try to do that whenever I can. Otherwise, I will be at home resting and spending time with my family.

Tell us about your dream vacation

One day I would love to go back to Puncak, Jakarta (Indonesia). Even though it is cold up there but I like the view from the top of the hill, I think it is the best place to rest while enjoying a cup of coffee and eating freshly roasted corn.

 If I weren’t at PS.Cafe I would…

I can’t imagine myself working elsewhere.

Any advice you would give to people just starting on their career?

Be prepared that things don’t come easy, so you have to work hard and take your responsibilities at work seriously. Do not wait for instructions to do your work, plan ahead, take initiative and don’t be calculative about things like your job scope. So set your priorities. For me, at the end of the day, it is about working hard and taking care of my family and my extended family of PS.Cafe.