#PSMeetTheTeam : Dilun (Service Crew)

Designation Service Crew

Year in PS 1 year full time, 5-6 months part time

Hometown Singapore

How did you start working at Chopsuey Dempsey?

I was working in an animal welfare organization at the time when my soccer buddy, Simon (Café Manager) told me about an available part-time position at Chopsuey Dempsey. I went ahead and applied for the position thinking that it would be an interesting experience to work in a completely different industry. I had no experience in F&B as I have always been active in non-profit organizations previously. Being a part timer has allowed me to get a taste of what it is like being in this line – Few months in and I realised that I thoroughly enjoyed it, so I left my non-profit career to be part of the full time service crew.

Tell us more about your non-profit organizations' background!

Prior to working in non-profit organizations, I was actually doing sales and events related jobs. I hit that point in life where I wanted to give back to the society. Being in non-profit organizations allowed me to do just that – for example; my previous job in an animal welfare organization was definitely fulfilling. I mean, how could anyone say no to taking care of animals on a daily basis? [laughs] I have a miniature schnauzer with my girlfriend that I really care about as well. It ticked a lot of boxes in what I wanted in a job.

Trixie (5 years old, miniature schnauzer) with another litter of 5 kittens that Dilun and his girlfriend was fostering a few weeks ago. 

Trixie (5 years old, miniature schnauzer) with another litter of 5 kittens that Dilun and his girlfriend was fostering a few weeks ago. 

 

Was it difficult to adjust from a non-profit environment to F&B?

I would say actually both works quite similarly, whereby you would improve the lives of others. Take an example of working with pets in an animal welfare – when I was helping and taking care of my customers’ pets, I created some sort of special bond with them. Same goes to working in food and beverage industry, I have a chance to create a special relationship with guests through good service and good food on a daily basis. It is practically the most satisfying part of the job.

What’s your most memorable experience in Chopsuey Dempsey so far?

Recently we had new guests from London, UK, which first knew about Chopsuey Dempsey through their daughter’s wonderful dining experience. They came all the way in between their 6-hour flyover in Singapore from their travel back to London because their daughter can’t rave enough about it. How cool is that? Building a good relationship with people just like that through service and food.

Favorite spot at Chopsuey Dempsey?

Definitely the covered veranda – it is cozy, not too stuffy even in our weather yet still facing the greeneries! 

What are the perks of working in CS?

It’s inevitable that I start to pay more attention to my meal, ambiance, and service experience whenever I dine out. Recently I was promoted to join Wine Guru – it’s a wine appreciation program created by PS.Cafe for their service crew to understand wine and its food pairings as well as technical knowledge on each grape and varietal. During the last exercise, we tasted wine with different mixers like vodka to enhance their complexity. I’m glad for this sort of exercise at work because it trained me to not solely serve food, but more proactive and appreciate everything else that comes with it. 

How do you spend your off days? 

I am trying to practice work-life balance, so I’ve been taking a break every 3 months to go on vacation. My next destination will be Krabi, Thailand. Other than that, I would scuba dive or play soccer with Simon! [laughs] 

Any advice you would give to people just starting out their career in the service industry?

I personally think there aren't many ‘how to’s’ in this line because Service is different; you learn on the job. Which means you have to be open-minded and have a positive learning attitude throughout the whole journey. Ideally you should enjoy dealing with people too because communicating with customers would create a more personal experience and lasting impression. It is not just about taking in orders and clearing tables - know that the learning curve is steep. Coming from someone like me with no experience, really, there are only two options here: either you runaway from the overwhelming experience or learn your way through the opportunities given. Luckily the latter happened to be the one I took – so here I am 1.5 years later and still enjoying every bit of it.

Sunday Wine Down

Aah Spain.... Tempranillos with the bold power of a matador or the elegance of a flamenco dancer. Youthful, flirty perfumed white wines and Cava that captures Barcelona nightlife. Blushing Rosado that mirrors the sunset to oaky Grenache with a whiff of leather from Sitges. There'll be something for everyone at our latest installment of Sunday Wine Down.

Sunday Wine Down is our end-of-the-month friendly walkabout wine tasting with fantastic discounts on purchases of six or twelve bottles. Share in our passion for fine wine.

Event page here!

#PSMeetTheTeam : Shawn (Service Crew)

#PSMEETTHETEAM : SHAWN (SERVICE CREW, ANN SIANG)

Designation Service crew

Year in PS 3 months (2 years contract)

Hometown South Korea

When did you move to Singapore?

I was contemplating between joining the Army straight after high school or taking a gap year, so I jumped upon the chance to move to Singapore when I received a call back from PS.Cafe about 3 months ago. Having the chance to move abroad was exciting because it means I could learn English at the same time, so here I am!

How’s your experience so far?

Thankfully I enjoy summer the most, so being in a tropical country with 'summer' all year round makes me really happy. I find Singapore very vibrant, there’s always things to do here for me. I think people here are friendlier than back home - although I wish there are cheaper Soju around! 

Language is probably the only issue for me so far, because of that, I would commute everywhere via the MRT (train) only because it’s easier to understand. [laughs]

Tell us about your difficulties working in an English-speaking environment.

It’s good because it forces me to learn on the job - Other than from my colleagues, I learn it too by watching tv series. I especially enjoy the American series'  - Modern Family and Big Bang Theory; Cameron and Jim makes learning English way more fun! 

What do you love most about your job?

Constantly surrounded by great food, the café’s nice ambience, friendly colleagues and supportive seniors and managers at PS.Cafe ASH makes it an enjoyable place to work. Even though I'm currently still learning English, which makes it difficult to communicate here, I love the opportunity of meeting people. 

What’s your all time favourite PS dish?

I love beef, especially pork - so St. Louis Ribs would be my favourite dish. Although I have yet the chance to try the PS.Burger, I can't help but drool over it because it smells amazing!

How do you spend your off days?

I don’t like staying at home, so I’d spend most of it outside - either for dinner at “Korea town” aka Tanjong Pagar or shopping around Town. I’ve got 2 friends from Korea working at PS as well, Amy and Bonnie, both of whom I would meet up occasionally. Other than that I would play soccer with my other Korean friends every Wednesday after work and last but not least, Karaoke!

What’s your best karaoke songs to sing lately?

Justin Bieber “Sorry”, Adele “Hello”, Sia “Cheap Thrills” and of course, K-pop songs.

Tell us about your favorite spot in ASH!

The newly renovated Attic bar & lounge area. I like the on going events here at ASH, such as Truffle Thursday and Saturday Night Diva, not only is the atmosphere lively, I also get to practice my Japanese by conversing with DJ Shigeki.

Anata wa nihongo o hanasemasu ka? (Do you know how to speak Japanese?)

[laughs] Hai, chotto! (yes, a little bit) 

If I weren’t at PS I would… be joining the Army, which eventually I still have to after 2 years. After that, I wish to study Hotel Management and Hospitality, hopefully somewhere abroad such as Canada where most of my Korean friends are. Although I’m not looking forward to the cold winter there! [laughs]

#PSMeetTheTeam : Ansari (Operations Assistant)

#PSMeetTheTeam : Ansari (Operations Assistant)

Designation Operations Assistant

Year in PS 25 years

Hometown Singapore

How did you start working at PS.Cafe

I started working as a personal driver for one of the directors in the early 90s; however, they needed someone to be in charge of delivery when the company began to grow in ‘92, that’s how I started working full time at PS and have stayed ever since. Has it been 25 years already? [Laughs]

What’s your most memorable experience in PS.Cafe so far?

Seeing how the company has grown and evolved through my years working here is definitely memorable. How they started from producing clothes, moving on to bags and accessories and now into F&B. I have been with them through the ups and downs, and those experiences are really what makes PS.Cafe feel like one big family to me.

How’s your typical everyday work schedule look like?

I start early at 5.30 am to make sure all outlets receive their freshly cut flowers and other deliveries. I think it is the best time of the day to deliver goods because the weather is cool and the roads are clear which helps shorten travelling time. After that, I’ll stop by HQ to check if there are things that need to be delivered to the outlets. I’m a planner so before I end the day, I’ll check with each outlet / kitchen / warehouse for things that need to be done the next day, that way I can plan my journey ahead and ensure that things get done promptly and efficiently.

That’s early! What’s your morning routine look like?

Everyday I wake up around 3.00 am and then will take some time to read the news. I like to know what’s going on around the world. I don’t normally eat breakfast, but black coffee is a must. Dawn is very peaceful because most people are still asleep. It is very important for me not to rush things before work, so I’ll take my time with my coffee. After that, I’ll take a cold shower to freshen up!

Do you listen to CD / radio in the car?

I listen to Radio Gold on most days, but weekends are my favourite time to tune in because they will play a lot of 70’s hits. From Celine Deon, Bread, Bee Gees, and so on. Jamming in the car is definitely one of my guilty pleasures. [Laughs]

What’s your favourite song?

There’s too many to mention, but off the top of my head would be Celine Dion & Bee Gees’ “Immortality”.

How do you spend your off days?

I grew up doing a lot of sports from soccer, cycling or anything sporty really, so I try to do that whenever I can. Otherwise, I will be at home resting and spending time with my family.

Tell us about your dream vacation

One day I would love to go back to Puncak, Jakarta (Indonesia). Even though it is cold up there but I like the view from the top of the hill, I think it is the best place to rest while enjoying a cup of coffee and eating freshly roasted corn.

 If I weren’t at PS.Cafe I would…

I can’t imagine myself working elsewhere.

Any advice you would give to people just starting on their career?

Be prepared that things don’t come easy, so you have to work hard and take your responsibilities at work seriously. Do not wait for instructions to do your work, plan ahead, take initiative and don’t be calculative about things like your job scope. So set your priorities. For me, at the end of the day, it is about working hard and taking care of my family and my extended family of PS.Cafe.